List of Tokyo Japan Open Winners (1972-2022)

List of Tokyo Japan Open Winners
List of Tokyo Japan Open Winners

The Tokyo Japan Open, a prestigious tennis tournament on the ATP Tour, has a rich history dating back to its inaugural edition in 1972. Over the years, it has seen some of the world’s top tennis talents grace its courts, battling for the coveted title. In this article, we take a journey through time to explore the list of Tokyo Japan Open winners from 1972 to 2022, highlighting some remarkable achievements and the current reigning champion.

List of Tokyo Japan Open Winners (1972-2022)

2022T. Fritz
2019N. Djokovic
2018D. Medvedev
2017D. Goffin
2016N. Kyrgios
2015S. Wawrinka
2014K. Nishikori
2013J. del Potro
2012K. Nishikori
2011A. Murray
2010R. Nadal
2009J. Tsonga
2008T. Berdych
2007D. Ferrer
2006R. Federer
2005W. Moodie
2004J. Novak
2003R. Schuettler
2002K. Carlsen
2001L. Hewitt
2000S. Schalken
1999N. Kiefer
1998A. Pavel
1997R. Krajicek
1996P. Sampras
1995J. Courier
1994P. Sampras
1993P. Sampras
1992J. Courier
1991S. Edberg
1990S. Edberg
1989S. Edberg
1988J. McEnroe
1987S. Edberg
1986R. Krishnan
1985S. Davis
1984D. Pate
1983E. Teltscher
1982J. Arias
1981B. Taroczy
1980I. Lendl
1979T. Moor
1978A. Panatta
1977M. Orantes
1976R. Tanner
1975R. Ramirez
1974J. Newcombe
1973K. Rosewall
1972T. Sakai

Who Has Won the Japan Open Most Times?

Throughout the tournament’s storied history, several players have etched their names into the record books by clinching the Japan Open title multiple times. Among these tennis legends, it’s Sweden’s Stefan Edberg who stands tall as the most successful player in the tournament’s history. Edberg’s remarkable consistency and mastery of the Tokyo courts saw him emerge victorious four times.  Edberg won the first time in 1987 and then won the next three in consecutive years from 1989 to 1991. His graceful play and remarkable skills left an indelible mark on the tournament.

Who Won the First Edition of the Japan Open?

The first edition of the Japan Open in 1972 witnessed an exciting battle on the tennis court, and it was T. Sakai who emerged as the inaugural champion. Sakai’s victory marked the beginning of a prestigious tennis tradition in Tokyo, and the tournament has only grown in stature since then.

Who Is the Defending Champion at Japan Open?

As of the last completed tournament in 2022, Taylor Fritz of the United States is the reigning champion of the Tokyo Japan Open. Fritz showcased exceptional skill and determination to secure the title, joining the ranks of illustrious past champions.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *